Youngsters Rahul Bhatia and Fahad Nawaz in UAE squad for Asia Cup Qualifers

The squad was announced for the Qualifier tournament which will be held in Malaysia


Youngsters Rahul Bhatia and Fahad Nawaz have been named in the UAE squad which will compete in the Asia Cup Qualifier later this month.

The pair were part of the Under-19 team that featured in the Asia Cup tournament last year and while it’s Bhatia’s first call-up to the senior side, Nawaz were part of the squad that played in April’s pre-Asian World Twenty20 qualifiers.

Abdul Shakoor, who last represented the national team in November 2015, has been recalled following impressive domestic displays.

Rohan Mustafa will captain the side in the 50-over tournament, which will take place between August 29 and September 6.

The UAE will compete against Malaysia, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman and Singapore in their bid to secure their place in the 2018 Asia Cup, which will be played in the UAE in September.

Speaking on the squad selection, Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board member and chief selector said: “Securing our place to compete in the 2018 Asia Cup, which is being hosted on home-soil, is of the utmost importance. Our players and the coaching team have been exceptionally committed to their training throughout the summer, and we are confident they will put forward a winning performance and secure the remaining place in the Asia Cup.”

UAE squad: Rohan Mustafa (C), Ashfaq Ahmed, Chirag Suri, Rameez Shahzad, Muhammad Usman, Adnan Mufti, Shaiman Anwar, Ahmed Raza, Imran Haider, Muhammad Naveed, Amir Hayat, Abdul Shakhoor, Rahul Bhatia, Fahad Nawaz and Zahoor Khan

We Recommend
Related Tags
Abdul Shakoor ECB Waleed Bukhatir