Manish Pandey clubs Australia A again as India B win quadrangular series by nine wickets

Pandey puts together back to back unbeaten innings of 117 and 73 to lead the hosts to victory

Sport360 staff 2018/08/29

India B have beaten Australia A by nine wickets in the one-day quadrangular series final at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday.

The match winner for India was in-form captain Manish Pandey who blasted 73 not out, following on his unbeaten century against the same opponent just a few days previous.

The Australians lost the toss and were sent in to bat first.

D’Arcy Short (72 off 77) and Alex Carey (53 off 56) were the mainstays of the batting innings, while Usman Khawaja (23), Ashton Agar (20) and Marnus Labuschagne (17) all made starts.

However, after being 4-192, Australia A lost their last six wickets for 33 runs to be dismissed for 225 in the 48th over.

Spinners Shreyas Gopal (3-50) and Deepak Hooda (2-41) claimed multiple wickets, as did fast bowlers Navdeep Saini (2-33) and Siddarth Kaul (2-24).

In reply, Mayank Agarwal (69), Shubman Gill (66 not out) and Pandey all posted fifties as India B reached the target one wicket down in just the 37th over.

Pandey’s effort completed a stunning double as he knocked up 117 not out against Australia A in the preliminary rounds. He fittingly completed the rout with a straight driven six over the sight-screen.

Agar claimed Australia’s only wicket.

Australia A’s first four day match – against India A – will be at the same venue commencing on September 2.

We Recommend
Related Tags
Alex Carey D'Arcy Short M Chinnaswamy Stadium Manish Pandey Usman Khawaja